Tags

, , ,

Day 26 – Done Day! Minus 4.  Well, for the first time since this challenge, I did not write a post yesterday.  I didn’t forget; it was a Saturday and just had other things to do, like … well, yet another yoga class in the morning, a relaxing day NOT doing anything, and then date night with My Love to hit a couple of new hotel bars in the city.  But tune in to tomorrow’s post to find out all about that.

These classes are beginning to run together.  And I honestly cannot say what, if anything, I took away from the class.  It was Friday, I was thinking about the weekend, and now that I’ve put this much time between it and writing about it, I really can’t say a whole lot.  With only three classes left now, I am just ready for life to return to a normal routine.  However, as I sit here and whine, I will say that I do feel much better physically.  My practice has improved immensely, and I feel a marked difference in my body and how I am much more aware of how it moves and feels.

After reading this article in New York magazine, I am inclined to believe that I am not connecting my physical practice with a mental practice.  I don’t agree with all of David Regelin’s opinions, and he comes across as a major asshole, but he does have a point when he says, “Yoga is not about enjoying yourself and having a fun experience that you like; it’s about changing yourself … and what changes you is usually the stuff you don’t like.”  I tend to stick with what I know and like.  I like the comfortableness of familiarity.  Because of this, I tend to not challenge myself as much as I should (a 30-day challenge is one step, however).  Some of the things he points out in this article made me think about broadening my practice both physically and mentally.  I need to get out of my comfort zone.  It surprised me when I realized that I really have taken mainly Ashtanga classes.  There is so much more to yoga than just Ashtanga, and I’m not dissing this style of yoga.  I just think I’m ready for more, not better, but just different and more.  You don’t know until you try, right?  Not only do I feel the need to broaden my yoga practice, but my ongoing quest for self awareness as well.  I think exposing myself to new and different classes will be yet another challenge.  26 down, 4 to go.

