Tags

, , , ,

Day 23 – Done Day! Minus 7.  A week to go!  I think I got this.  Next Wednesday will be the first day it will not be imperative I leave work on time (like there’s ever an occasion I stay late), rush home to give my kittenchildren a brief pelt pet, change into yoga clothes that on occasion are in varying stages of the gradation of clean, and then wing my way to the studio, obeying most traffic laws.  I’m concerned that after next Tuesday (Done Day!), I will not be consistent in my regular practice since I don’t have the completion on the line.  I will fall back into the bad practice of justifying those flimsy excuses mentioned in Day 18 post.  Last year’s challenge was completed just before Mardi Gras.  In New Orleans, Mardi Gras is a semi-believable excuse for anything.  Well, you believe it anyway.  Everyone else may call bullshit, but it’s one excuse you feel less guilty using somehow.  Then there might’ve been a couple of colds/sinus infections in there somewhere.  There was the temporary ending of a relationship which brought about a broken heart — this is a pretty good fucking excuse actually — and weeks spent on the couch wallowing in taco-flavored Doritos, peanut butter straight out of the jar (sometimes with a spoon, sometimes without), and self pity with my ex-friend, Misery.  Then after getting back on my strong, independent, single-again feet, I was swept off of them by My Love (thankfully realizing), and we all know that the beginning of “head-over-heels” leaves no room for yoga or anything else for that matter, except each other.  I’m happy to say I’m still on my strong, independent feet; I just have My Love who walks next to me now. I’m hoping I can continue to keep up with a regular practice and not become a yoga backslider.  I am going to try my damnedest!  With someone now to hold me accountable and call me out on bullshit excuses, my hope is to be a more consistent yoga student.  The benefits I reap from a routine yoga practice should be motivation enough, but I’ve never been that disciplined.  However, giving myself credit, I guess it does take a little bit of discipline to do something everyday for 30 days even if I did gripe/whine/bitch about it a few times.  I’ve never felt like I wanted to quit.  Could it be that I am more disciplined than I think?  Maybe I should make every month a 15-day challenge.  Adapting a reward system, if I conquer those 15 days, then at the end of the month I get a “happy.”  I hope a “happy” is motivation enough, but what I know for sure is that I’ll be happy when I am victorious in this challenge.  23 down, 7 to go.

