Tags

, , ,

Day 22 – Done Day! Minus 8.  It amazes me how I really have to think about what day I’m on, how many days I have left, and how much I really suck at math.

Injury report:  I don’t want to jinx myself, but I’ll say it anyway — last night’s class was great (details to follow), but the good news is that my pectoral muscle didn’t hurt at all.  Not even a twinge.  So I guess my rest and relaxation, heating pad applications and recognizing the need to take care of myself paid off.  Yay!

The class is called “Funky Vinyasa” and is done to the groovy beats of Al Green, Lauren Hill, John Mayer, Beyonce, Bill Withers, Prince, and last night’s bold selection of Coolio’s “Gangsta’s Paradise,” and lots of other funky artists.  (Reminder:  I must make a request for some Marky Mark and the Funky Bunch as it is a “funky” class and I did just see the movie “Contraband” this weekend, which I definitely recommend, not only because it was shot here in New Orleans but because it was a pretty damn good movie.)  My problem with this class is that I want to sing and dance along instead of mindfully breathing and holding strong poses, but I’m not so sure my neighbors would appreciate all that as much as I would enjoy it.  Obviously, this is an upbeat and intense class.  It’s different from the soft sounds of singing bowls, world fusion and chanting monks, which I also welcome.  My Love recognized immediately when I got home that I had a great class because I had what he calls the “yoga glow,” which unfortunately, I don’t see when I look in the mirror.  I see someone who is both enjoying and tiring of this challenge, one happy girl, and someone who definitely needs to dye her roots much sooner than later.  But I’m glad it is noticeable when my physical self reflects my inner self because I really felt energetically peaceful last night.  It’s a great feeling!  And I’m grateful I have someone to notice it.  22 down, 8 to go.

