Tags

, , ,

Day 20 – Halfway There Day Minus 10.  I slept with the heating pad last night (until the point where I woke up and felt like I was burning alive and threw it off), and when I woke up this morning, I had less pain in my pectoral muscle.  The Saturday morning classes are usually at a slow pace, but are intense because they are so precise in alignment and position.  When I got to the studio, another student was talking about his sprained fingers, so I, of course, contributed my ailment to the conversation.  Never one to be left out.  Subsequently, our teacher made the class a restorative class, instead of a flow, and it was just what I needed.  We talked about listening to your body and how there are times to push through to further your practice.  This is not one of those times, she said.  It’s time for me to listen to what my body is telling me it can and cannot do and honor that.  Yoga is not all about holding poses and twisting yourself into crazy positions.  It’s about being one … with the Universe and with yourself.  If I push it with this injury, I am just fighting myself.  I know I can do the poses and I can progress my practice.  I have proven that.  But can I incorporate this pulled muscle into my practice, knowing when to stop or modify the pose?  It’s difficult because I want to give 100 percent in every class because I love seeing results.  That’s one of the things that keeps me committed to this challenge.  However, the result I need right now is to make sure I take care of myself.  I’m hoping that I can do that.  Does anyone know if wine remedies a pulled muscle?  Anyone?  Anyone?  20 down, 10 to go.

