Tags

, , ,

Day 19 – Halfway There Day Plus 4.  Started the weekend with a Friday night class in balmy, drizzling weather.  Evidently, Mother Nature has forgotten about us down here in south Louisiana and didn’t send winter our way.  You could’ve actually laid out and gotten a tan today.  I don’t think anyone “lays out” anymore.  Oh, that’s what Planet Beach is for.  Right.  I forgot.  I don’t know the last time I got real sun or fake, tanning bed sun.  I’d like to think I have evolved and am now an accurate representation of my so-white-almost-blue Scottish ancestors.  I remember that being the thing to do in the summer — laying out in someone’s backyard in those beach chairs where the top and bottom folded into the middle and the legs folded underneath.  They were heavy as shit too.  We had the radio tuned to 102.5 WFMF (this is Baton Rouge, Louisiana in the ’80s) playing Duran Duran, Prince, .38 Special and every now and then a song from the ’70s (before they even started calling it “classic rock”), probably something from Led Zeppelin or Bad Company.  Every 20 minutes or so, someone would get up (first fastening the top of their swimsuit because tan lines on your back were totally unacceptable) and get out the hose pipe to spray us all down like they spray the elephants at the zoo.  The day my best friend’s family got a pool, everything changed.  We were like the Jeffersons — moving on up!

None of this has anything to do with my class on Friday night; however, I was just going with the flow of my brain and you were following along.  My class was great … right up until the part where I felt a little twinge in my pectoral muscle.  By the end of the class, it was a whole lot more than a twinge.  During last year’s challenge, I strained the same muscle during the last week.  I pushed through, but it took about a month afterward to heal.  Same pain.  About the same time.  Great!  When I got home, I immediately started searching for the heating pad and took some Ibuprofen.  We shall see how this affects my practice.  I’m hoping I can take it easy, but that in itself is a challenge.  19 down, 11 to go.

