Tags

, , ,

Day 7 – After an extremely relaxing day of … well, doing nothing really, I went to the relaxation and restorative class at 5:30.  I think it’s genius to have this kind of class on a Sunday afternoon.  All of the poses are intended to help you just “let go” of anything hanging around from the week before and the busy weekend and it gives you some serenity (now!) to call upon on Monday morning when you get to the office and open your Outlook inbox.  Basically, it’s just laying on this bolster in varying poses and concentrating on breathing and nothing else.  There’s nothing difficult about this class other than just relaxing.  You would think, right?  Now, I can appear to be as lazy as a three-toed sloth and calming my body is really easy for me.  My couch will vouch!  It’s the calming of my mind that’s really hard for me.  Thoughts are constantly swirling around in my head and I think that this constant vibrating of my mind prevents me from fully, I mean really fully, relaxing physically.  On the rare occasions that I’ve achieved total relaxation, I get this very peaceful feeling.  I call it my “knot” feeling.  I didn’t get it last night.  But I’ll let you know when I do!  7 down, 23 to go.

